Tuesday, October 30, 2007

Preseason NBA All-Ugly Team

As we embark on the NBA season it's time to post the All-NBA Ugly Team honors. Awards go to those that always have their game faces on.
FIRST TEAM













Charlie Villanueva, Milwaukee Bucks
Known as "Skillanueva" on his NBA.com Bio, says his favorite player growing up was Reggie Miller, an Ugly NBA Hall of Famer.













Christopher Zane Kaman, LA Clippers
Kaman, a perennial favorite to take home the MVP award, starts another arduous season with the Clippers. He battles for "Alpha Dog" status with teammate Sam Cassell.













Joakim Noah, Chicago Bulls

The highly-touted ugly prospect looks to make his rookie splash in a big way. His mother was actually a model--i.e. she was good looking--but Noah has overcome all odds to be where he is today.











Donyell Marshall, Cleveland Cavaliers
Donyell's versatility has made him one of the best all-around uglies in the game. Last year my roommate spotted the Legend in Las Vegas and described him as "tall, black, and ugly."














Sam Cassell, LA Clippers
The wily vet rounds out the team with his 14th consecutive nomination. Age has had virtually no effect on his game.

HONORABLE MENTIONS


Keith Closs, ex-LA Clipper, working his way back
Closs has also received recognition on YouTube. In the video he is shirtless outside a club in LA arguing with gang members. The skrawny 7 footer towers over the crowd. The mob, unimpressed by his stature, beats Closs for a few minutes before he can escape. The joke was that the lowly Clippers lost 67 times that season but got beat 68 times.







Coby Karl, LA Lakers








Brevin Knight, LA Clippers






















Yao, Houston Rockets

Yi, Milwaukee Bucks
The American Dream: Ugliness emerges from the oppression of China.

-----Those are all the preseason awards. As the season continues the contenders will separate themselves from the pretty boys.

Sunday, October 28, 2007

Hey I think everyone started blogging again since my challenge. That is great. Lindsay even committed. I'm impressed. Hope you all have great plans for Halloween, here is a weird Halloweenish picture of me.
Also, A-Rod has opted out of his contract with New York. I see him going to the Anaheim Angels of California near Los Angeles. If would be the perfect way to spurn all of his former teams, the M's, Rangers, and Yankees. It's a nice fit for him there because Angels fans and sportswriters aren't that demanding (they still have their rally monkeys--basking in the glow of their 2004 championship), Southern California is a big market, and there are plenty of Latinos there to make him feel at home. Arte Moreno is delusional enough to believe his team is from LA and Anaheim; he is also delusional enough to believe paying A-Rod 30 million a year is worth it.
There is also a chance that he could go to Chicago to reunite with Lou Pinella, or even the Dodgers, but I don't see him going to the National League.

Tuesday, October 23, 2007

Supreme Court Justice & Orem Red Sox


Greetings Family, Friends, and Luddites.
Today the Supreme Court Justice John G. Roberts Jr. is speaking at the University Forum. Until just recently I thought that Rehnquist was the Supreme Court Justice, but in my defense Rehnquist died in 2005, when I was on my mission. Anyways, everyone is making it out to be a big deal and I now feel obligated to go. It should be interesting. I was wondering if it was more in Justice Roberts' interests to influence students at BYU, or for BYU to somehow influence Justice Roberts. I guess he doesn't worry about influencing the Mormons too much, he has security in his position.


On another note the Boston Red Sox have advanced to the World Series and I couldn't be more dissapointed. Since winning the World Series the Red Sox have become the quintessential "Bandwagon" team for Utahans. I attribute this to the acquisition of the lovable David "Big Papi" Ortiz, the allure of old east-coast Boston , and the fashionable neutral red/blue colors of the organization. It makes no sense at all. Outside of BYU paraphernalia, Red Sox apparel outdoes Jazz, Bees, Flash, Broncos, 49ers, and Rockies (albeit all the sudden there are Rockies fans popping up from nowhere).
These "die-hard" Red Sox fans have just recently expressed and embraced a hate for the Yankees. Why do they hate the Yankees? Because they are rivals of Boston, of course. Everyone hates New York. But why have fans before this Sox craze hated the Yankees? It's because they had much more money than anyone else, bought other teams' stars, were successful, annoying players, and had a large obnoxious fan base--ranging to some of the biggest bandwagon fans.
Is this not the Boston Red Sox? This last year the Yankees payroll was 195 million dollars. The Red Sox payroll was 145 million dollars. The median payroll was 87 million. They are obviously on the far side of the spectrum. What star players have they bought out? Manny Rameriez from the Indians, Curt Shilling from the Diamondbacks, Josh Beckett from the Marlins, Daisuke Matsuzaka from Seibu Lions (for 100 million, more than the payroll of all but 7 MLB teams), Eric Gagne from the Rangers, and JD Drew from the Dodgers (ok he might not be a star, but he's paid like one). In terms of success, the Red Sox won one World Series after decades of nothing and they turned from the Cubs into some kind of "dynasty". Annoying players, look no further than Jonathan Papelbon or Manny Rameriez. Needless to say there are obnoxious Red Sox fans everywhere not just Utah. In Utah the sports polygamy has reached new levels. Fans that are annoyed of people who choose "their" teams out of the sports salad bar are labeled bigots.
This is the state of sports affairs at BYU, sad as it is. The World Series will be hard to watch, I'm not sure who I want to win. The Yankees 2.0 or the Colorado (wait!--I like the) Rockies.

Friday, October 19, 2007

Challenge


Yeah that's right, the biggest game of the year. Tomorrow when these 2 powerhouses face off I will be watching from home. I have to say that I'm conflicted, it just doesn't seem right to root against the Cougars or my Eagles. My allegiance to both schools is strong.
In other news, I'm the only member of the family posting blog entries anymore. I don't even have kids to take pictures of. Lindsay hasn't started a blog, although many of us thought she would be all over this. She expressed her security concerns to me, which seem to be legit. One solution we discussed is using code names for the grandkids. That would be easy enough. Here, I will give Lindsay some ideas so she can get started:












Efrain









Lateefah









Engracia

There, it's handled. We all know their code names now. All I had to do was visit an ethnic baby-naming site. Now you can make a blog. There is also an option to make it so only people you select can view your site. I think that you would be really good at it. But as it is right now, with you still out of the game, my blog is the best. Quality, design, content--I'm tops in the league. But you guys aren't even making it hard. Those who have blogs aren't posting, and half of the family doesn't even have one yet. This is a challenge to you guys.
School is going well, we had midterms. I did well on all my tests so far, including a 100% on my New Testament midterm. I'm still stressing out about how to finish my independent study, I need to write a few research papers for that. Tara said she would help me, so I'll probably be fine. Anyways, I can't wait to see your new blogs.

Friday, October 12, 2007

Untitled


I think every time I talk to someone in the family they ask me what classes I'm taking, so I might as well post it.

Introduction to Advertising
English Writing in the Social Sciences
New Testament
History 202
Introduction to Communications (Independent Study)

In addition, I need to prepare a 30-second video for my application in January. All my classes are going pretty well. I think I got the highest test score in my advertising and I feel like I did well on my History written exam. Next week I will take a test for New Testament and English. I'm on track to get good grades in all my classes.
The class that I am most worried about oddly enough is my independent study class. I've done well on all the quizzes and pretty good on the tests. I have finished the book and now I have 2 five-page papers, a written assignment, and another paper left (not including the final). I'm a little nervous because it all seems so subjective, and I receive next to no feedback or instruction from the professor. I've concluded that he's an idiot, because he doesn't keep his material up-to-date with the book. I informed him of three of his quizzes that were flawed, and he went back and fixed my score. I know that it's independent study, but I've never been so dissatisfied with a teacher.
And a final addition to this rant is that I've become more irritated. BYU has a lot of loud, annoying people. I can't escape them. Not even in the library. My home isn't quiet either, my house mate plays techno music at all hours. It's starting to go crazy. I wish I owned some noise-canceling headphones or something.
Sorry for writing all that, but it makes me feel better. Back to work.

Tuesday, October 2, 2007

The Concert


Last weekend I found myself at a Smashing Pumpkins concert. The concert was in Orem at UVSC in the aptly named David O. McKay Building. I went with my old roommate, Larson, and some of his friends. I felt a little out of place because they had all been to 50 or so concerts between themselves. We bought our tickets from some guy in Salt Lake the day of the concert and got 20$ off each ticket. It was strange to see Billy Corgan (the main singer) in real life, he is very tall with extremely long hands. He is a strange looking guy, but he seemed nice. There were some dorks there that some with and big name performer but it was still enjoyable.
As far as the Jerusalem idea goes, I've written off the idea but I keep on running into people that just went there, like Tad Farmer. He recommended it highly, but said that it is a more difficult curriculum. I don't know.
Also I'd like to publish my official guess for the next Apostle, Elder Charles A. Didier.